by Jon Hilke

Fenton, MO – 29 All-Stars representing 25 schools descended on the Fenton Forum for the 2018 MOIHA All-Star game on Wednesday night. The All-Stars were divided up into two teams which were named “East” and “West” and competed in a three period game in which the winning team would get the opportunity to play the 2018 National Collegiate Roller Hockey Association (NCRHA) Division 3 National Champion Lindenwood University Lions.

The game was evenly matched in the East vs West game as each team scored three goals in the opening period as Timothy Pazdernik (Vianney), Brad Tucker (Affton), and Scott Bernie (Fox) scored for the East team, while Van Kraemer (CBC) tallied all three goals for the West team. The score was 3-3 at the end of the first period.
During the first intermission, players competed in the fastest skater competition. Connor Bradley (Oakville) won the event and took home a new set of Labeda wheels as his prize. Bradley was also the only player that scored in the second period and gave the East team a 4-3 lead heading into the final period.

In the second intermission, the top shooter and top goalie competitions took place as Dylan Humphreys (Holt) was perfect in the shootout and Chase Christopher (Oakville) only allowed one goal and claimed the top goalie competition. Both players also received a set of wheels from MOIHA’s newest sponsor Labeda. In the third period, the West team led for the majority of the period with goals from Connor Patterson (Fort Zumwalt West) and Eli Cooper (Francis Howell) but the East would respond late with goals from Cam Nowak (Columbia) and Parker Winkelmann (Seckman) to give the East a 6-5 victory over the West. Winkelmann was named the games MVP and took home a set of Labeda wheels.

That set up a showdown between the East team and the Lindenwood University Lions. The East All-Stars came out of the gate flying and tallied two quick goals against the Lions but the lead didn’t last long as Lindenwood showed why they are one of the premier collegiate programs in the country and defeated the MOIHA East All-Stars by a final score of 13-6.

MOIHA would like to that all the players and coaches that participated in the 2018 All-Star game. A special thanks and congratulations to Lindenwood University for taking the time to play in our event. MOIHA would also like to thank Tour Hockey for the custom jerseys that each MOIHA All-Star received and Labeda for the individual wheel prizes.

Affton - Brad Tucker

CBC - Van Kraemer

Columbia - Cam Nowak

DeSmet - Kenny Gibson

Duchesne - Derek Cagle

Fort Zumwalt East - Ryan Taylor

Fort Zumwalt North - Dominic Schwartz

Fort Zumwalt South - Hunter Tillotson

Fort Zumwalt West - Connor Patterson

Fox - Scott Bernie

Francis Howell - Eli Cooper

Francis Howell Central - Brett Anderson

Francis Howell North - Matt Tilley

Hazelwood - Ben Dietrich

Holt - Dylan Humphreys

Lindbergh - Dillon Dunaway

Northwest - Dylan Sullivan

Oakville - Connor Bradley

Parkway South - Jack Litteken

Rockwood - Cody Markotay

Seckman - Parker Winkelmann

SLUH - Christian Berger

St. Marys - Casey Wingbermuehle

Vianney - Timothy Pazdernik

Washington - Brandon Gallegos

Goaltender - Chase Christopher (Oakville)

Goaltender - Clayton Davis (Northwest)

Goaltender - Danny Karr (DeSmet)

Goaltender - Blake Heitert (Affton)

Coach - Tyler Sollberger (Oakville)

Coach - Ryan Maxwell (DeSmet)