by Jon Hilke

Fenton, MO – Last Sunday the 2017 state champions were also crowned in the Varsity D2, Junior Varsity and C-Division at the Fenton Forum.
In the C-Division, #1 Fort Zumwalt West Jaguars took on #2 Oakville Tigers Sunday afternoon.  These two teams met back on April 9th with the Tigers dominating the Jaguars by the score of 14-5.  That score wouldn’t matter in this one as FZW led 4-2 after the first period and tallied three more in the second as they went on to defeat Oakville 7-3.  The Jaguars outshot the Tigers 21-12 and FZW’s Jake Ostrander scored the game winning goal.  Fort Zumwalt West is the 2017 C-Division State Champions!
The Junior Varsity championship may have been the longest ever MOIHA playoff game as it took double overtime to decide this contest.  The #1 Seckman Jaguars matched up against the #2 Francis Howell North Knights as the Jaguars led 2-1 after one period of play.  Seckman would have all the momentum early in the second as they built a 5-2 lead with a little over two minutes remaining.  The Knights would not go quietly as Head Coach Cody Kettler would pull his goaltender and score three goals to send us to the first overtime period.  It was a slow paced overtime as both teams controlled the puck and waited for the other to make a mistake that they could capitalize on.  Neither team would capitalize and they were headed to the second OT.  Seckman’s Alex Koeller said enough is enough and ended FHN’s miracle comeback with the game winner in the second overtime.  Seckman is the 2017 Junior Varsity State Champions!
The Varsity D2 championship was a contest between the #1 DeSmet Spartans and the #2 Rockwood Summit Falcons.  These two teams met back on March 28th as the Spartans won that game 10-8.  It was a tight defensive battle as shots on goal were sparse but the Spartans scored when they got the opportunity and defeated the Falcons 5-1.  DeSmet’s Kyle Brauch netted the game winning goal and gave the Spartans the 2017 Varsity D2 State title!